Accessibility tools

Viaducts abutment chamber inspection

Posted by Attrax Administrator
Posting date:7/29/2019 9:45 AM
Severn Trent Water (STW) as asset owners were required to carry out inspections as part of their principal inspection programme on two Large viaducts in the Peak district.

As part of the inspections was to inspect 4 hollow abutments, typically undertaken using vast amounts of scaffolding and manpower, the DAM team proposed instead utilising a mix of rope access and drones. 

Looking for the best solution possible, Atkins provided a cost effective and risk adverse driven solution while not significantly compromising the quality of the inspection. The result was an innovative solution which reduced the cost of inspection and risk to staff, while still maintaining a high quality of inspection. 

Health and safety risks were minimised using the drones in confined spaces. This approach ensured staff were exposed to less risk but also produced video footage of the difficult to access chambers. 

The use of rope access allowed a more detailed inspection to be carried out in the largest chamber after the drone carried out a reconnaissance flight so the inspection could be focused and informed. 

Multiple lessons learnt came from this project. Most importantly, collaboration of sources and innovative technology led to an optimised deliverable and reduced cost for the client. 

jobscarousel

Related Jobs

Project Manager

Salary

Location

N/A

Job Type

Full Time

Category

Permanent

Brand

Atkins

Market

Transportation

Career Area

Railway signalling

Location

London

Description

Project Manager – Design & Build              Are you ready to take up a vital role in shaping some of our exciting projects? How about joining our talented team, where everyone has a voice, and toget

Reference

R-051290

Expiry Date

5/15/2021

Abhishek Saha

Author

Abhishek Saha
View ** DEFAULT listwidget.vacancypartial.shortlist - en-GB **
Testing Engineer

Salary

Location

Birmingham

Job Type

Full Time

Category

Permanent

Brand

Atkins

Market

Transportation

Career Area

Railway signalling

Location

Birmingham

Warrington

Tunbridge Wells

Croydon

London

Description

Test Engineer (Simple, Complex, [M]) IRSE 1.3.190, 1.3.170 (Work From Home Opportunity)Are you ready to take up a vital role in shaping some of our exciting projects? How about joining our talented te

Reference

R-049153

Expiry Date

5/15/2021

Abhishek Saha

Author

Abhishek Saha
View ** DEFAULT listwidget.vacancypartial.shortlist - en-GB **
Signalling Principles Designer

Salary

Location

York

Job Type

Flexible Working

Full Time

Category

Permanent

Brand

Atkins

Market

Transportation

Career Area

Railway signalling

Location

York

Description

Signalling Principles Designer Are you ready to take up a vital role in shaping some of our exciting projects? How about joining our talented team, where everyone has a voice, and together we face our

Reference

R-045219

Expiry Date

5/15/2021

Abhishek Saha

Author

Abhishek Saha
View ** DEFAULT listwidget.vacancypartial.shortlist - en-GB **
Transport Planners

Salary

Location

Birmingham

Job Type

Full Time

Category

Permanent

Brand

Atkins

Market

Transportation

Career Area

Transport planning

Location

Cambridge

Birmingham

Bristol

Description

Now part of the SNC-Lavalin group, Atkins’ UK Transportation business brings together the capabilities of our Rail, Highway and Local Transport teams, into a single business of 3,000 talented transpor

Reference

R-051325

Expiry Date

5/15/2021

Ajeesh Rajan

Author

Ajeesh Rajan
View ** DEFAULT listwidget.vacancypartial.shortlist - en-GB **
Assistant Signalling Designer

Salary

Location

Birmingham

Job Type

Flexible Working

Full Time

Category

Permanent

Brand

Atkins

Market

Transportation

Career Area

Railway signalling

Location

Birmingham

Description

Join our organisation, where we have a huge variety of projects on-the-go at any one time. So, when you start this role with us, it could take your career wherever your interests lie. You'll find ever

Reference

R-047974

Expiry Date

5/15/2021

Ajeesh Rajan

Author

Ajeesh Rajan
View ** DEFAULT listwidget.vacancypartial.shortlist - en-GB **
Senior Technical Lead - Transport Policy and Strategy

Salary

Location

Manchester

Job Type

Flexible Working

Full Time

Category

Permanent

Brand

Atkins

Market

Transportation

Career Area

Transport planning

Location

Manchester

Description

Are you ready to take up a vital role in shaping some of our exciting projects? How about joining our talented team, where everyone has a voice, and together we face our clients' problems head-on. It'

Reference

R-047283

Expiry Date

5/15/2021

Ajeesh Rajan

Author

Ajeesh Rajan
View ** DEFAULT listwidget.vacancypartial.shortlist - en-GB **
Transport Planners Active Travel

Salary

Location

Birmingham

Job Type

Full Time

Category

Permanent

Brand

Atkins

Market

Transportation

Career Area

Transport planning

Location

Birmingham

Manchester

Epsom

Bristol

Description

Now part of the SNC-Lavalin group, Atkins’ UK Transportation business brings together the capabilities of our Rail, Highway and Local Transport teams, into a single business of 3,000 talented transpor

Reference

R-051321

Expiry Date

5/15/2021

Ajeesh Rajan

Author

Ajeesh Rajan
View ** DEFAULT listwidget.vacancypartial.shortlist - en-GB **
GIS Analyst

Salary

Location

Leatherhead

Job Type

Full Time

Category

Permanent

Brand

Atkins

Career Area

Transport planning

Location

Potters Bar

Dartford

Leatherhead

Description

Atkins, Balfour Beatty and Egis Road Operations UK  are part of a consortium, creating Connect Plus Services, a unique partnership with a collective strength in highways asset care from finance, throu

Reference

R-051377

Expiry Date

5/15/2021

View ** DEFAULT listwidget.vacancypartial.shortlist - en-GB **
Senior Transport Economists (Freight & Logistics)

Salary

Location

London

Job Type

Full Time

Category

Permanent

Brand

Atkins

Market

Transportation

Career Area

Transport planning

Location

London

Description

Atkins’ UK Transportation (part of the SNC-Lavalin group) business brings together the capabilities of our Rail, Highway and Local Transport teams, into a single business of 3,750 talented transport a

Reference

R-051319

Expiry Date

5/15/2021

Ajeesh Rajan

Author

Ajeesh Rajan
View ** DEFAULT listwidget.vacancypartial.shortlist - en-GB **
Signalling Principles Design Verifier

Salary

Location

York

Job Type

Full Time

Category

Permanent

Brand

Atkins

Market

Transportation

Career Area

Railway signalling

Location

York

Description

Signalling Principles Design Verifier Are you ready to take up a vital role in shaping some of our exciting projects? How about joining our talented team, where everyone has a voice, and together we f

Reference

R-047861

Expiry Date

5/15/2021

Abhishek Saha

Author

Abhishek Saha
View ** DEFAULT listwidget.vacancypartial.shortlist - en-GB **

Related Articles

Engineering into the future

How this graduate is challenging the world of transport.

Strategic alternatives to HS2 Phase 2b

Wild swimming, cyber security and a vice

jobscarousel

Recently viewed jobs

Navigation